The competition is now open! Finalists average 12,500+ views and are watched by an industry judging panel, including BAFTA winning filmmakers. The winner is guaranteed at least 25,000 views. One previous winner has already passed 215k views.

Why Enter?

In all past competitions, more than one in ten films have been selected and our winners regularly gain more views than Vimeo Staff Picks. Here's an example. Here's another.

On top of that, we use industry judges and show the winning films to top agents, including those at RSA Films, MJZ, MindsEye and Casarotto Ramsay.

Nobody connected to the competition earns money from it: the entry money goes back into promoting shorts and the filmmakers take 75% of the YouTube earnings.

The Steps

1. Submit a 1-25 minute short film (fiction, documentary and/or animation). There is a small submission fee. Earlybird is $9 (less for students and Indian filmmakers).

 Flim Freeway

2. We select 8-10 finalists. Each finalist appers on the FILMSshort homepage and is promoted for $50*. The last finalists have averaged over 10,000 views each.

3. The judges, including many industry insiders, will choose winners in each category. The Grand Prize Winner wins an extra $200 promotion, ensuring 25,000 views. It may be fiction, doc and/or animation (all have previously won), and from any country.

** Grand Prize Winner **
** Best Short Animation **
** Best Short Short **
** Best Cinematography **
** Best Sound Design **
** Best Indian Short **
** Best BAME Short **

4. Winners appear on the homepage. The film with the most social media hits within one week of posting will also appear on the homepage and win the:

** People's Choice Award **

5. The winners will be announced on social media and stay on the website as long as the filmmakers permit. Winners will also be invited to help judge the next competition.

* Filmmakers who give permission to upload to YouTube receive more promotion.
** Filmmakers receive a contract and earn 75% of any profits on films.


Q. Why is there a submission fee?
A. It's mainly to cover promotional costs. No-one takes a wage or payment.

Q. How much is spent on promoting my film?
Each finalist is promoted for $50. The winner is guarenteed 25,000 views.

Q. Will you show preference to English language films?
A. No. Previous winners have come from all over the world!

Q. Who are the judges?
More details on the judges can be found on this page but here is the list:

Robert Brinkmann, Hollywood DoP and director on Cindy's New Boyfriend.
Daisy Jacobs, BAFTA winning & Oscar nominated animator of The Bigger Picture.
Alexa Jago, BAFTA-nominated and BIFA winning producer. 
Gillies MacKinnon, BAFTA nominated film & TV director.
Femi Oyeniran, award-winning filmmaker and actor at Purple Geko.
John Hardwick, award-winning film & TV director.
Simon Ellis, BAFTA-nominated film & TV director.
Ben Blaine & Chris Blaine, filmmakers known for shorts & features.
Johan Verschueren, Oscar-nominated writer on Gridlock.

Q. Who will watch the Grand Prize Winner?
Matilde Ramos Pinto, agent at RSA Films.
David Kayser, agent at Casarotto Ramsay.
Max Yeoman, co-founder of MindsEye.
Helen Kenny, managing director of MJZ London.
Steven Russell, agent at Collective Talent.

The previous winner was:

 Flim Freeway
Kisa Filmler Link to Spanish page Link to Russian page Link to Romanian page Link to Polish page Link to Polish page Link to Japanese page Link to Italian page Link to Hungarian page Link to German page Link to French page Link to Chinese page